Choosing a wallpaper and an adhesive - Etoffe.com

Choosing a wallpaper and an adhesive

Choose
a wallpaper

The type of wallpaper should be selected based on the colours or desired effects, but also based on the type of room and the condition of the wall. Dry rooms can accommodate all types of wall covering, whereas it is advised that you favour vinyl papers or non-woven fibres in wet rooms.

 

In order to transform as space, you have to recover all of the walls with a covering. For your walls, why not take a risk and go with panelling, or even a single drop with a strong pattern, to personalise a room without going over the top. You could also opt for a frieze or a border. Wallpaper could be an excellent way to breath new life into your furnishings. When carefully chosen, it uniquely complement your furniture.

WALLPAPERS

  • Traditional
  • Non-woven
  • Vinyls
  • Expanded

Traditional

These papers are made solely from sheets of printed paper. There are two different kinds. "Simplex", which is all one thickness or "duplex", which has two. In this case, the pattern is printed on the front layer, with the back layer facing the wall These papers do not offer great resistance to light or humidity. They are best suited for use in bedrooms or living rooms.

Non-woven

Made from non-woven cellulose and polyester fibres coated with a layer of vinyl or paper, non-woven papers are increasingly favoured by designers for designer wallpapers. Tear-proof and slightly thicker than a traditional wallpaper, it is intended for irregular or damaged walls as it allows you to mask minor imperfections. It is also very simple to hang: the adhesive can be applied directly onto the wall without having to first be applied to the lengths of paper. Non-woven paper is a modern material that doesn't contain any substances that are harmful to the environment or your health. Its waterproof quality means that it can be hung in wet rooms.

Vinyls

Vinyls consist of two layers. The surface layer is made from PVC, while the base layer is made from traditional paper. Resistant to humidity and washable, they are perfect for use in a kitchen or bathroom.

Expanded vinyls

Particularly durable, expanded vinyls are produced using raised inks, which create relief on the surface of the PVC used in these wallpapers. They can be painted because they are covered by a special PVC sub-layer. Thanks to their relief, they are suitable for covering imperfect walls, as they hide irregularities. Looking for something a little more unique? There exists a wide range of less common wall coverings: Japanese straw, crushed velvet, imitation leather wallpaper, wood or stone, or metallic wallpaper are but a few examples.

ADHESIVES

  • For lightweight papers: use a universal adhesive. Allow 200 to 250 g for 6 to 7 rolls.
  • For thick, non-textured wallpapers: use an adhesive for heavy paper (same quantity as above)
  • For flocked, embossed or velvet wallpapers: use an adhesive for special papers. Allow 200 g for 5 rolls. You will also find adhesives in tubes that are specifically intended for reinforcing the joins, as well as specific adhesives for non-woven papers, fabric and glass fibre wall coverings. Remember that if you are not sure which type of adhesive is suitable, there are also versatile reinforced adhesives that are suitable for all types of paper.

Help

In case of doubt contact us on 01 83 62 07 91 for specialist advice.

Choisir un papier peint et une colle - Etoffe.com

Choisir un papier peint et une colle

choisir
un papier peint

Le choix du type de papier peint doit se faire selon les couleurs ou effets recherchés mais aussi en fonction du type de pièce ou de l'état du mur. Ainsi, les pièces sèches acceptent tous les types de revêtements muraux, tandis qu’il est conseillé de privilégier les papiers vinyles ou les fibres intissées dans les pièces humides.

 

Pour transformer un lieu, il n'est pas nécessaire de recouvrir tous les murs de tapisserie. Pour vos murs, osez le panneau, ou même le lé unique avec un motif fort qui suffit à personnaliser une pièce sans la surcharger. Vous pouvez aussi opter pour une frise ou une bordure. Pour vos objets, le papier peint peut être un excellent moyen de leur donner un nouveau souffle. Judicieusement choisi, il apportera un cachet unique à vos meubles.

LES PAPIERS PEINTS

  • Les traditionnels
  • Les intissés
  • Les vinyles
  • Les expansés

Les traditionnels

Ces papiers peints sont uniquement constitués de feuilles de papier imprimées, il en existe de deux sortes. Le "simplex", constitué d'une unique épaisseur et le "duplex", qui en compte deux. Dans ce cas, l'épaisseur frontale est imprimée du motif, et l'épaisseur dorsale fait face au mur. Ces papiers n'offrent pas une grande résistance à la lumière, ni à l'humidité. Ils conviennent le mieux à des chambres ou des pièces à vivre.

Les intissés

Fait de non tissé en cellulose et de fibres polyester enduits d'une couche de vinyle ou de papier, l’intissé est privilégié par de plus en plus d’éditeurs pour les papiers peints design. Indéchirable et légèrement plus épais qu'un papier peint traditionnel, il est indiqué pour les murs irréguliers ou abîmés puisqu’il permet de masquer les petites imperfections. Il est aussi très simple à poser : la colle peut être appliquée directement sur le mur sans passer par l'encollage préalable des lés. L’intissé est un matériau moderne ne contenant pas de substances nuisibles à l'environnement ou à la santé. Son imperméabilité lui permet en outre d'être posé dans les pièces humides.

Les vinyles

Les vinyles sont composés de deux épaisseurs. La couche de surface est en PVC, la dorsale est en papier traditionnel. Résistants à l'humidité et lessivables, leur usage est tout indiqué dans une cuisine ou une salle de bain.

Les vinyles expansés

Particulièrement résistants, les vinyles expansés sont fabriqués à base d'encres gonflantes qui donnent du relief à la surface en PVC de ces papiers peints. Ils peuvent être peints lorsqu'ils sont recouverts d'une sous-couche spéciale PVC. Grâce à leur relief, ils sont préconisés pour tapisser des murs imparfaits car ils atténuent leurs irrégularités. A la recherche de plus de singularité ? Il existe une grande variété de revêtements muraux moins courants : la paille japonaise, le velours floqué, le papier peint imitation cuir, bois ou pierre ou le papier peint métallisé n’en sont que quelques exemples.

LES COLLES

  • Pour les papiers peints légers : utilisez une colle universelle. Comptez 200 à 250 g pour 6 à 7 rouleaux.
  • Pour les papiers peints épais et non texturés : utilisez une colle pour papier lourd (même rendement que précédemment).
  • Pour les papiers peints floqués, gaufrés, velours... : utilisez une colle pour papiers peints spéciaux. Prévoyez 200 g pour 5 rouleaux. Vous trouverez aussi des colles en tube spécifiquement destinées au renforcement des raccords ainsi que des adhésifs particuliers pour les intissés, textiles à coller et toiles de verre. Sachez que si vous n’êtes pas sûr du type de colle qui convient, il existe également des colles polyvalentes renforcées qui conviennent à tous les papiers peints.

Aide

En cas de doute, contactez-nous au 01 83 62 07 91 pour bénéficier des conseils d'un spécialiste.

Aucun produit

Total 0,00 €

Commander
Newsletter s'inscrire

Retour en haut