Choose an inflammable fabric - Etoffe.com

Inflammable fabrics

inflammable fabrics

Nowadays, with ever more stringent requirements regarding the safety of interior furnishings, the fire behaviour of a fabric is a decisive factor for companies, and is also becoming increasingly important for individual consumers too. The reaction of a textile towards fire determines its its likelihood to ignite and to contribute to the starting and spread of a fire.

The fire resistance of upholstery fabrics is determined by means of tests, during which they are subjected to various temperatures.

  • M fire rating
  • Trevira CS
  • Fireproofing

M fire rating

In France there is a general classification that defines the reaction of fabrics to fire: the NF P.92.507 standard. It is divided into six categories:

  • M0 "incombustible"
  • M1 "non-flammable"
  • M2 "fire resistant"
  • M3 "moderately flammable"
  • M4 "readily flammable"
  • M5 "highly flammable"

*The majority of premises intended for public use must be fitted with M1 fabrics.

ISO 12952-1:1998 specifies a general test method that applies as standard for all bedding, with a view to estimating their ignitability when in contact with a cigarette. Bed linen in hotels, hospitals and rental properties must generally comply with these standards, although it does not apply to bed bases, mattresses and mattress protectors.

Trevira CS

Developed by German company Trevira, this new family of polyester features specific characteristics that make it particularly inflammable. It retains its dimensional stability and the considerable resistance of classic polyesters to light and humidity. But unlike fabrics that have undergone fireproofing treatment, its resistance to fire is not affected by washing or wear.

Trevira CS is the fabric most commonly used by major fabric designers when looking for a permanently fire-resistant textile. Some of them use it to cover their entire furniture ranges, allowing them to be used in hotels and restaurants for example. Trevira CS also comes in two variations: Bioactive, with long-lasting anti-bacterial properties, and Polair, which is warm, comfortable, lightweight and easy to care for.

Nowadays manufacturers really compete with one another on the creativity front, and interior designers no longer have to choose between the practicality and aesthetics of a fabric. Trevira CS can take on the appearance of Organdy, velvet, satin, taffeta, metallic fibre...

Fireproofing

The anti-fire treatment of treatment represents part of the passive prevention of fire. The spray-based solution is simple to implement, and is colourless and odourless. It is nonetheless advised that you perform a test on a sample of fabric prior to use to avoid any nasty surprises.

These powder treatments allow you to protect furniture and fabrics positioned near a fireplace, for example, and must undergo a fire behaviour class report.

Choisir un tissu non feu - Etoffe.com

Tissus non feu

tissu non-feu

Aujourd'hui, avec la demande croissante en matière de sécurisation des intérieurs, le comportement au feu d'un tissu est un critère déterminant pour les collectivités, et de plus en plus important pour les particuliers. La réaction au feu d'un textile désigne son aptitude à s'enflammer et à contribuer au démarrage et à la propagation d'un incendie.

La résistance au feu des tissus d’ameublement est déterminée par des tests lors desquels ils sont soumis à des températures variées.

  • Le classement M
  • Le Trevira CS
  • L’ignifugation

Le classement M

En France, il existe un classement général qui définit la réaction au feu des tissus : la norme NF P.92.507. Elle se divise en six catégories :

  • M0 «incombustibles»
  • M1 «non inflammables»*
  • M2 «difficilement inflammables»
  • M3 «moyennement inflammables»
  • M4 «facilement inflammables»
  • M5 «très facilement inflammables»

*La plupart des locaux à usage public doivent être équipés de tissus M1.

L'ISO 12952-1:1998 spécifie une méthode générale d'essai commune à tous les articles de literie pour l'estimation de leur allumabilité sous l'action d'une cigarette. Le linge de lit des hôtels, des hôpitaux et des locations doit généralement répondre à ces normes mais les sommiers, matelas et protège-matelas ne sont concernés.

Le Trevira CS

Développée par l’entreprise allemande Trevira, cette nouvelle famille de polyester est dotée de caractéristiques spécifiques qui le rendent difficilement inflammable. Il conserve les propriétés techniques de stabilité dimensionnelle et la grande résistance à la lumière et à l’humidité des polyesters classiques. Mais contrairement aux textiles ayant subi un traitement ignifuge, la résistance au feu n’est altérée ni par les lavages, ni par l’usure.

Le Trevira CS est la fibre la plus utilisée par les grands éditeurs de tissus en matière de textile non-feu permanent. Certains d’entre eux couvrent toute la gamme d'articles d'ameublement permettant l'aménagement d'hôtels et de restaurants par exemple. Le Trevira CS est également décliné en Bioactive, aux propriétés antibactériennes permanentes, et en Polair, chaud, douillet, léger et facile d'entretien.

Aujourd'hui, les fabricants rivalisent de créativité et les décorateurs n'ont pas à choisir entre l'aspect pratique et l'esthétique d'une matière. Le Trevira CS peut prendre l’apparence de l'organdi, du velours, du satin, du taffetas, du métallisé...

L'ignifugation

Le traitement anti-feu des textiles fait partie de la prévention passive contre l'incendie. La solution du spray est simple à mettre en œuvre, incolore et inodore. Il est néanmoins conseillé de faire un essai sur un échantillon de tissu avant toute utilisation afin d'éviter les mauvaises surprises.

Ces traitements à pulvériser permettent de protéger le mobilier et les tissus à proximité d'une cheminée par exemple et doivent avoir fait l'objet d'un procès verbal de classement de réaction au feu.

Aucun produit

Total 0,00 €

Commander
Newsletter s'inscrire

Retour en haut