Choosing your curtains - Etoffe.com

Choosing your curtains

Choosing your window dressing Curtains are an integral part of your interior design and often remain hanging in a room for several years. Making a good choice is therefore vital! For this reason, you will find below various types of fabric to allow you to successfully complete your projects, or even to birth some new ideas in you.
Whatever your desires, your style and your technical requirements, Etoffe.com will have a suitable window dressing solution for you.
We propose two options:

  • Make your curtains yourself by choosing from our vast range of curtain fabrics. When so doing, make use of our calculator to determine your required length and follow our curtain-making tips.
  • Go for the simple and fast solution: ready-to-hang curtains.

Fabrics

  • Blackout curtains
  • Double width
  • Lining
  • Casement Curtains
  • Reversible
  • Blind
  • Japanese panel
  • Curtain tiebacks

Blackout curtains

Classed as darkening or as genuine blackout fabrics, these fabrics allow you to darken a room or protect yourself from the sun without shutters. The offer the advantage of protecting you from heat and cold, while reinforcing the phonic insulation of a window.

A practical solution in every room of the house, they are also perfect in projection rooms such as meeting rooms or for cinema evenings.

View our range of blackout fabrics.

Double width

This refers to fabrics wider than 260 cm.

Double width fabrics can be used vertically and, occasionally, horizontally, and offer the advantage that they reduce the number of cuts required to cover large windows, including bay windows. They thus prevent or reduce losses due to the joins on patterned fabrics.

View our range of double width fabrics

Lining

In addition to enhancing the blackout capacity of simple fabric, the curtain lining offers the advantage that it masks the reverse side of the fabric and reinforces protection against drafts. It also warms the room and improves the fall of the curtain by giving it weight.

The fabric most often used for lining curtains is sateen, but a fine and lightweight satin will also do the job.

Choose a light colour to avoid too much heat being absorbed by the fabric in summer, which will be diffused into the room. On the other hand, you should go for a dark colour if you want your curtains to be more opaque. You can also go for a blackout fabric or for the same fabric as your curtains.

Casement Curtains

Casement curtains dress your windows in a lightweight fashion while filtering light and protecting your interior from prying eyes.

Choose from our range of casement curtains.

Reversible

Reversible tissues allow you to benefit from the good blackout capacity of a dark fabric inside the room, while enjoying the benefits of a light fabric made from thermally insulating material facing out. You can thus prevent the absorption of heat and its diffusion into the room without the need for lining. Very elegant, the reversible curtain lets you dress each room in a sophisticated manner, and even allows you to partition spaces.

View our reversible fabrics.

Blind

You can choose a fabric to make into blinds. With patterns, made from cloth or plant materials such as straw, the possibilities are endless! They dress standard windows, bay windows and verandas and allow light in to the extent that you want. In addition to the practical aspect, they also add a certain modernity to your interior.

Japanese panel

For centuries, Japanese panels have been an integral part of the oriental interior. Today they are used to create ambiances that are at once contemporary and traditional: a dressing room, a partition between two rooms, a bathroom, a screen in a bedroom, windows opening onto an interior winter garden etc. The possibilities are endless! They are frequently used when decorating lofts, with a view to creating soft partitions between the various spaces.

When used as window dressings, sliding Japanese panels are used. A double rail may allow them to cross past one another, thus creating interesting effects regarding the level of transparency.

Curtain tiebacks

Perfect the overall coherence of your windows with elegant tiebacks to match your curtains. The choice is without doubt based on the fabric. The tie back must be fixed between the half way mark and one third of the way up the curtain, depending on the desired effect and the height of the window. Do not over tighten the tie so as to give the curtain some volume and to create a warm effect in the room.

Int he case that the curtains are to be used frequently, you are best going for "swan's neck" tiebacks or question mark shaped tiebacks. You can also use discreet brackets.

Etoffe.com offers a wide range of tiebacks and interior jewellery designed by Houlès, Designers Guild and Color de Seda and offers the option of having your tiebacks in the same fabric as your curtains..

View our selection of passementerie.

Help

In case of doubt contact us on 01 83 62 07 91 for specialist advice.

Here to help

If you have any question or if you need help to place an order, our Customer Service stays at your disposal from Monday to Friday 10am to 6pm, UTC+1.

flag-france flag-united-kingdom flag-spain

Download our wallpaper calculator

Thanks to an algorithm thought out with the best specialists, the application allows you to determine the exact number of rolls or meters you need to cover the walls of your project.

That is not all, you can also see our 50 most beautiful wallpapers updated every week.

Choisir vos rideaux - Etoffe.com

Choisir ses rideaux

choisir son habillage de fenêtre Les rideaux font partie intégrante de la décoration de votre intérieur et sont souvent installés pour plusieurs années. Bien les choisir est donc primordial ! C’est pourquoi vous trouverez ci-dessous les différents types de tissus pour vous permettre de répondre au mieux vos projets, voire même faire germer en vous de nouvelles idées.
Quelles que soient vos envies, votre style et vos exigences techniques, Etoffe.com aura la solution qui convient pour habiller vos fenêtres.
Nous vous proposons deux possibilités :

  • Confectionner vos rideaux vous-même en faisant votre choix dans notre vaste gamme de tissus pour rideaux. Pour cela, aidez-vous de notre calculateur du métrage nécessaire et suivez nos conseils d’aide à la confection.
  • Optez pour la solution facile et rapide : les rideaux prêt-à-poser.

Les tissus

  • Occultants
  • Double largeur
  • Doublure
  • Voilage
  • Réversible
  • Store
  • Panneau japonais
  • Les embrasses de rideaux

Occultants

Classés obscurcissants ou véritablement occultants, ces tissus permettent d'assombrir une pièce ou de se protéger du soleil sans volets. Ils offrent l'avantage de protéger du chaud et du froid et renforcent l'isolation phonique d'une ouverture.

Pratiques dans toutes les pièces de la maison, ils sont aussi idéaux dans les pièces de projection telles que les salles de réunions ou pour les soirées cinéma.

Voir notre gamme de tissus occultants.

Double largeur

On nomme ainsi les tissus d’une largeur supérieure à 260 cm.

Les tissus à double largeur peuvent s'utiliser dans le sens de la hauteur et, parfois, dans le sens de la largeur, et offrent l’avantage de réduire le nombre de coutures nécessaires pour couvrir les grandes fenêtres et baies vitrées. Ils permettent ainsi d’éviter ou de diminuer les pertes dues aux raccords des tissus à motifs.

Voir notre gamme de tissus en double largeur.

Doublure

En plus d’intensifier le pouvoir occultant d'un tissu simple, la doublure de rideau présente l'avantage de masquer l'envers du tissu et de renforcer la protection aux courants d'air. Elle apporte également un aspect plus chaleureux à la pièce et améliore le tombé du rideau en lui donnant du poids.

Le tissu le plus indiqué pour doubler les rideaux est la satinette, mais un satin fin et léger peut aussi convenir.

Choisissez une couleur claire pour éviter une absorption trop importante de la chaleur par le tissu en été, qui serait diffusée dans la pièce. A contrario, préférez une couleur sombre si vous voulez rendre vos rideaux plus opaques. Vous pouvez également opter pour un tissu occultant ou pour le même tissu que vos rideaux.

Voilage

Le voilage habille vos fenêtres avec légèreté tout en filtrant la lumière et en protégeant votre intérieur des regards indiscrets.

Choisissez parmi nos voilages.

Réversible

Le tissu réversible permet de profiter du fort pouvoir occultant d’un tissu sombre à l’intérieur, tout en bénéficiant des bienfaits d’une teinte claire en matière d’isolation thermique vers l’extérieur. Il permet donc d’éviter l’absorption de la chaleur et sa diffusion dans la pièce sans nécessiter de doublure. Très élégant, le rideau réversible permet d’habiller chaque pièce de manière raffinée, et peut même permettre de délimiter des espaces.

Voir nos tissus réversibles.

Store

Vous pouvez choisir un tissu pour en faire des stores. Avec des motifs, en voile, ou en matières végétales type paille, les possibilités sont nombreuses ! Ils habillent les fenêtres, les baies vitrées, les vérandas et laissent entrer la lumière comme vous le souhaitez. En plus de l'aspect pratique, ils apportent une touche de modernité certaine à votre intérieur.

Panneau japonais

Depuis des siècles, les panneaux japonais font partie intégrante des intérieurs orientaux. Aujourd'hui, ils sont utilisés pour des ambiances tant contemporaines que traditionnelles : dressing, cloison entre deux pièces, salle de bain, paravent dans une chambre, ouverture vers un jardin d'hiver intérieur, etc. Les possibilités sont infinies ! Ils entrent fréquemment dans l’aménagement des lofts afin de créer des séparations douces entre les différents espaces.

En cas d'habillage de fenêtres, les panneaux japonais sont du type coulissant. Une double tringle leur permet éventuellement de se croiser, créant alors un jeu de transparence.

Les embrasses de rideaux

Peaufinez l’harmonie de vos fenêtres avec des embrasses élégantes qui s’accorderont avec vos rideaux. Le choix se fait bien sûr en fonction du tissu. L'embrasse doit être fixée entre la moitié et le tiers de la hauteur du rideau selon l'effet voulu et la hauteur de la fenêtre. Ne serrez pas trop l'embrasse pour laisser du volume au rideau et donner un effet chaleureux à la pièce.

En cas d’utilisation fréquente des rideaux, préférez des embrasses en «col de cygne» ou en point d’interrogation. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser des crochets discrets.

Etoffe.com vous propose une grande variété d'embrasses et de bijoux d'intérieur dessinés par Houlès, Designers Guild et Color de Seda et vous offre la possibilité de réaliser vos embrasses dans le même tissu que vos rideaux.

Voir notre sélection de passementerie.

Aide

En cas de doute, contactez-nous au 01 83 62 07 91 pour bénéficier des conseils d'un spécialiste.

Aucun produit

Total 0,00 €

Commander
Newsletter s'inscrire

Retour en haut